Keep your eyes up!

by riverbendcog

index

“And Peter answered him. ‘Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.’  He said, ‘Come.’ So Peter got out of the boat and walked on the water and came to Jesus. But when he saw the wind he was afraid, and beginning to sink he cried out, ‘Lord save me.’ Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, ‘O you of little faith, why did you doubt?’

Why did you doubt?  What a great question.  This past week was especially challenging for me at work.  I felt overwhelmed by my circumstances, powerless to affect necessary change, emotionally wrought at times, and quite honestly sick of trying to keep up with too much work.

This morning it occurred to me that in the worst times of this past week, I took my eyes off of God for a moment.  The needs of my job, the people, the dysfunction all closed in on me and instead of looking up at Him–like Peter when he stepped out to walk toward Jesus on the water–I looked at the swirling black water and crashing waves,  and started to sink.

Our default position as humans is to stare at what threatens to drown us instead of at who holds the life preserver.  And when we are in these situations of life, the destroyer of our peace is only to quick to take advantage of our shaky footsteps.  When we should be fixing our eyes firmly on God’s countenance, through prayer and worship and praise and yes–even thanksgiving because we know that these trials of life are what James calls “opportunity for great joy…for when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.” (James 1:3).  But instead,we–or at least me this week–can allow Satan to distract us from these activities by filling us with lies about our worth as humans and about what we can’t accomplish.

But praise God!  We are children of the King of Kings.  We have a relationship with God that comes from the covenant He made with us because of His unconditional love.  I need to remember that when I’m looking into the waves and feel my footsteps getting shaky!  This week, I’m keeping my eyes up on the One who saves, not on what can drag me under.

 

