The Money Tree

by riverbendcog

money-tree-images-28508wall

If money grew on trees… I’m sure you’ve heard that expression before.  It’s an expression of discouragement, or a sarcastic retort when facing financial limitations.  It’s a simple illustration that can help children understand the nature and limits of economics (well for most of us who don’t make a 7+ digit salary!).  I cannot fathom not having to live by a budget.  I cannot fathom the freedom of decision making without having to include financial considerations.  At Riverbend Church of God we just finished a 3 week sermon series titled “Trading Up”.  We were invited to consider what living a life more fully under the reign of God might look like.  It is a call to living generously with our time, talent, and treasure.

In 1 Chronicles we see King David getting his affairs in order before he dies.  One of the last things that he does is ensure the way is paved for his successor, his son Solomon, to build the temple that was on David’s heart.  To do this he both donates and collects from the people all the resources that will be needed for construction.  After the collection, David prays this remarkable and insightful prayer: (1 Chronicles 29) 14 “But who am I, and who are my people, that we should be able to give as generously as this? Everything comes from you, and we have given you only what comes from your hand…16 Lord our God, all this abundance that we have provided for building you a temple for your Holy Name comes from your hand, and all of it belongs to you.17 I know, my God, that you test the heart and are pleased with integrity. All these things I have given willingly and with honest intent. And now I have seen with joy how willingly your people who are here have given to you.”  Wow.  what a beautiful perspective.  I think it challenges how most of us operate.  What would happen if we truly held such a belief?  How would our lives be different?

The Bible tells me my Heavenly Father loves me and will provide for me.  He is Creator of the Universe.  He is King of the Universe.  He is Sovereign.  I love hearing testimonies of others of how God has provided for them in miraculous ways!  Those fresh stories build my faith and continually remind and challenge me to evaluate what paradigm I am living by.  As Kingdom representatives we are called to live generous lives because we are to reflect and model what the Kingdom of God is all about.  If I find myself living with a scarcity mindset instead of a generous one I know I have an identity issue.  I better spend time re-orienting myself, listening to what God has to say about who He is and who I am as a child of God.  I need to recalibrate so that I can properly live out my Kingdom responsibility.  If God is calling us as a church, or as individuals, to do something we need to step out in obedience and faith because we are backed by the One who does have a money tree!  This knowledge ought to make all the difference in the world to how we live.  It ought to arm us with confidence, courage, and peace of mind that when we seek first his kingdom, our needs will be met, and we can be used as conduits of generosity.  Go ahead-believe in the money tree!

 

