Forgiven-Forever!

by riverbendcog

forgiven-forever

 

When I was a child, I had bad theology; as a result, I lived at times with unfounded fears.  I don’t recall where the false understanding originated, but I simply remember that “it was”.  For a period of time I thought that if I had an unconfessed sin and I died, I would go to hell.  As a result multiple times a day I prayed prayers of repentance asking for forgiveness.  Now I know I’m not the only one who has at times believed that!  But that’s just not what Scripture teaches.  The memory of my childhood torment came flooding back on Sunday morning while I was sitting in our church service, listening to a sermon on Hebrews 10:1-14.

Hebrews 10:14- For by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy.

That verse (and others within the first 14 verses of Hebrews 10) reminded me of the peace and security that a child of God can live with.  The work of Christ is sufficient.  The work of Christ is thorough.  Sin can’t keep you out of heaven.  That’s good news!  It doesn’t mean that sin is harmless.  It doesn’t mean that with can sin with license and have a clear conscience.  But that is for another post!

With Christ’s death on the cross, he didn’t make us perfect until the next time we sin.  He doesn’t therefore need to die again for my sins, as the Levitical high priest had to offer sacrifices again and again for each new sin.  It says that his one sacrifice has made us perfect FOREVER!  That’s a pretty long time 🙂 .  As long as we are united with Christ, the Father remembers our sin no more.  The writer of Hebrews goes on to quote Jeremiah in v.17: “I will remember their sins and their lawless deeds no more.”  The work of Christ on our behalf is a truly remarkable thing.  It achieves for us unlimited access to God.  It provides for us a secure identity.  Just as we don’t disown our children and they don’t cease to be our children when they fail, so we are members of God’s household, and it takes more than unconfessed sin to lose our spot.

I encourage you to take these wonderful truths and use them as a springboard into worship.  May your hearts and minds be filled with thanksgiving to your Heavenly Father.  May your secure identity as a beloved child of the King move you to live a life of obedience because that is the most natural expression of who you are!

